Greek chorus and graduation times!

Two alumni - me and James McAvoy
Two alumni; new and old

Last week was so incredible I’ve had to take a few days to just think about it and breathe. First off there was a masterclass in Greek Chorus work lead by the wonderful Judith Milligan, a renowned Leqoc practitioner and teacher. I’ve never been so tired nor so happy during a workshop before. In two days 16 strangers started behaving as one, we breathed together, we moved together and we listened with more than just our ears and however cool that was in the moment it has also made me think of acting in general – how important it is to be connected to each other while yet maintaining our own voices and energies in the whole (in a much subtler way than the chorus, of course).

Then I graduated. Yep, that’s right, I graduated! It was a beautiful ceremony celebrating an incredible year at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, full of ups and downs, laughter and tears, sweat and blood. Just enough pomp and circumstance to make an everlasting memory. There were bagpipes and fizz and a perfect time to say goodbye to a lot of friends, beloved teachers and amazing classmates that are all flying off to their own corners of this planet. A year and a half ago I auditioned for my dream school and today I have joined an amazing bunch of alumni in the real world and to be honest, it feels a bit surreal.

On top of that this week has been littered with auditions and business as usual, some great nights out and Halloween/Samhain – the oddest night you can ever spend in a city of Scottish origin. I only hope November will be as epic as October, and I can feel it in the air – winter is coming!

Leave a Reply

