Combat and scripts

995648_758299804257206_7392724351762031477_n

It has been a very long time since my last blog post. So what happened in January? Well, a lot is the simple answer. (The picture may speak for itself.) So here is a breakdown just for you:

Firstly I became one of the inaugural members of the Tron 100 club which launched last month, it’s an amazing project which brings together 100 creatives for one year to network, to share skills and to develop Scotland’s cultural life to new heights.

And stage combat classes started up again with a one day workshop in broadsword and rapier and dagger. From having practised the technique for the past semester we are now moving on to staging a fight for both screen and stage and I am excited to glimpse the detailed work that goes into it. Soon I’ll be taking my next certificate in quarter staff and to say that I’m impatient to start is an understatement.

Rehearsals for my second play ”Welcome, my name is Leah” started and we perform in the first week of February. It’s a sci-fi play about identity and nerves are tingling. I both love and fear myself for putting my own work out there, but if you don’t leap you’ll never fly, right?

I went down to London to see the new MA CCT cohort rock the Globe stage with their rendition of Love’s Labour’s Lost directed by the ever great Nick Hutchison. It was wonderful to meet all the teachers again and the cold felt strangely far away. Shakespeare’s Globe is an amazing place and now more than ever do I dream of standing on that stage. Preferably when it’s not baltic. But it wouldn’t matter. London, I think I might be heading down to you very soon! It was there I also found out that I have recieved my BA degree at last! Hello, real life, I can’t even pretend that I’m in uni anymore. And I’m excited!

Finally production started on a film that I’ll be shooting in March and it both looks and sounds amazing. We’ve had a read-through and photo shoot and all that jazz. I won’t tell you what it is yet but when it becomes official, you will know!

So, yeah, my January flew by pretty fast. It ended with me finally meeting my nemesis again; the guitar. I have had one for years and tried to play it many times but it is… trickier than a piano to say the least. But our relationship is on the mend and I hope that one day we’ll be friends.

That is it for me, I hope to be less of a stranger to you this year!

Take care,
M.
One thought on “Combat and scripts

Leave a Reply

