So long (2016) and thanks!

Yes, yes, I know that it’s February and yes, we just said goodbye to Valentine’s Day. A post like this should have been made a long time ago but what can I say? It’s been a crazy time, with lots of fun and adventures and I just plain ran out of time whenever I was within wifi range.

So let’s pretend that it’s January 1st, 2017 and jump straight to it: 

So what was the year that just passed into history? 2016 was a year that gave negativity a louder voice than the forces of good and joy. Yet – the frontier of humanity was pushed forward and forward again and that is something we should never forget and I know that at least I can’t stop geeking out over it. 2016 was  the year of discovery, of silly memes and personally it was quite a pivotal year for me.

Burns Night made me grow as an actress and person, I got to go to places I had only dreamed of before. I write more about it here. What I didn’t get to tell you then is the around-half-the-world trip I got to make afterwards. Those of you following me on Facebook might have caught bits and glimpses of all the shenanigans that happened at this year’s comic-cons. Starting off in Edinburgh for the Capital Sci-Fi Con we moved on through London’s MCM and later Scotland’s MCM. Having never before been to a convention before (having only heard of the likes of San Diego through the Tumblr and Facebook grapevines) I was a tad overwhelmed by the sheer size of the expo. So many passionate, talented people in one and the same place! So much to geek out over! I think the most memorable event was the times the doors opened in the morning and thousands of these awesome people literally ran inside. Next stop was the big US of A and HawaiiCon, celebrating Star Trek’s 50th with the stars themselves. Hanging out poolside and taking a hike on an active volcano – Hawaii took my breath away, and quite possibly my heart.

During the spring two things happened: I made my Pinter-debut as Ruth in The Homecoming, directed by Nicola Todd which we performed as the inaugural production of Govanhill Theatre’s new space. It was a wild ride from start to finish, that Pinter guy is one special writer.

I also met Icelandic director Kolbrún Björt Sigfúsdóttir and our play (Can this be) home? was born, together with Glenys Leigh McIntyre and Tom Oakes. It was a piece incredibly close to my heart and the fact that we made this in the midst of a political upheaval during Brexit only highlighted the themes and message.

This is probably the part where I go “It’s a new year, a new me!” but as with many beginnings, they follow an ending. Whether it was chosen for us or not. As the last sun sets on the days of 2016 I think it is safe to say that most of us have been changed by the year that was. It was rough, it was tough and it was at times a bit difficult to grasp. But rather than retreat into our own little bubbles, let’s show the world of 2017 that we are a force to be reckoned with. Let’s make a stand and show the world and ourselves above all that we are human, and – we may be changed but we are NOT destroyed.

May all your dreams come true!

skarmavbild-2017-02-17-kl-15-30-38
Clockwise from bottom left: The Homecoming, The Last Equinox, portrait photo, FLUX and (Can this be) home?
3 thoughts on “So long (2016) and thanks!

Leave a Reply

